Introducing our new Access Cornwall reviewer: Becky Jones

HI! My name is Becky and I am so excited to be a part of Access Cornwall! After writing and publishing my first review we thought it would be best I introduce myself properly! I am 30 years old and have had my disability since the age of 12. My adult life I have always had to be aware of accessibility and have to plan my daily life, trips and days out around it. To be a part of making that easier for people in Cornwall is something very special.


I grew up in Oxford, we lived in the same home until my 17th birthday when we moved into our local pub. We ran the pub as a family for just over a year and learnt so much! It was a very special experience and one I will never forget. I moved to Cornwall just after my 22nd birthday and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made! I love everything about living in Cornwall, the incredible views, the pace of life, the people, just everything! Not only have I fallen in love with the county but I also fell in love with a Cornish man. Jon and I have been together for almost 7 years and got married in a barn on the cliffs in 2019. It was everything I could have ever dreamed of, truly the perfect day.


Becky and Jon on their wedding day posing in a field with the sea in the back ground


My main love in life are my gorgeous pets, Tique the cat and Hendrix the border collie. Tique is our little chronic illness warrior, she was very poorly as a kitten with cat flu which has left her with damaged nasal passages and she will have small flare ups throughout her life. She is an indoor cat so relies on us to entertain her! She is 5 years old now but still acts like a tiny kitten and has never really grown up! Hendrix is my dream dog! Rather than having a honeymoon after our wedding we had a puppymoon instead and spent our honeymoon fund on our beautiful tricolour border collie! He is a whirlwind of energy and fun, he absolutely loves learning new tricks and has completed a course up to his expert master certificate. I spend a lot of time training him and researching new techniques, we are currently working on tidying his toys away at the end of the evening.


cat and dog nose to nose looking like they are kissing


If I am not training Hendrix or entertaining Tique I can be found with my family and friends. I love spending time with people and have always been very sociable! Really love a good night in the pub with loved ones! I started playing Magic the gathering a few years ago, Jon and I play together but we are hoping to start playing with others now the game shops have opened up again. It is lovely to share a hobby with my husband, we often while away a good few hours playing! I also enjoy crafts although like many crafters, my house is full of unfinished projects! My favourite thing to make are dog bandanas, they’re so simple and quick to make! Recently our lives have opened up and we are finding new adventures every day! I passed my driving test in September and it has given us so much freedom! Being able to go to my favourite places without having to walk has been a game-changer.


Becky with her driving test pass certificate


Well, there is a little about me!

I can’t wait to continue sharing my experiences of venues around this beautiful county.

Thanks for reading,

Becky Jones xxx


  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment